NAACP revealed that legendary entertainer, film icon and two-time Image Award recipient Eddie Murphy will be inducted into the acclaimed NAACP Image Awards Hall of Fame during this year’s ceremony. Additionally announced, Image Award Outstanding Female Artist nominee Jazmine Sullivan will perform–along with Grammy Award-winning singer Maxwell, who will celebrate the 25th anniversary of his debut album Urban Hang Suite–during  the 52nd NAACP Image Awards airing LIVE on BET and simulcast across ViacomCBS Networks including CBS, BET Her, VH1, MTV, MTV2, and LOGO on Saturday, March 27th, 2021 at 8/7c.

Eddie Murphy Portrait

The Hall of Fame Award, which will be presented by Eddie Murphy’s collaborator and long-time friend Arsenio Hall, is bestowed on an individual who is a pioneer in his or her respective field and whose influence will shape the profession for generations to come. As one of the most commercially successful actors in the history of the motion picture business, Murphy has entertained and kept audiences laughing for over 40 years.

He began his career doing stand-up comedy as a teenager and later joined the cast of Saturday Night Live. At age 21, Murphy starred in the box-office hit 48 Hours, and went on to star in more than 70 films including Trading Places, Beverly Hills Cop, Coming to America, Harlem Nights, The Nutty Professor, Dr. Dolittle Shrek, Dreamgirls, Dolemite Is My Name, and Coming 2 America–which secured the #1 opening weekend of any streaming movie in the past year. An Academy Award nominee, he has been recognized for his work with two NAACP Image Awards, as well as Golden Globe, Emmy, Screen Actors Guild, and Grammy Awards.

“We are honored to celebrate one of the most influential comedic geniuses in the entertainment industry and an individual who has inspired a generation of Black talent,” said Derrick Johnson, President and CEO of the NAACP. “To this day, Eddie Murphy’s work continues to bring joy and laughter to individuals around the world, and he is an amazing example of Black excellence, creativity, and artistry.”

Jay-Z Honors Breonna Taylor | Eddie Murphy Inducted into Hall of Fame | Jay-Z’s company donating 1,000+ bags of groceries to Louisville in honor of Breonna Taylor Many events will take place to honor Breonna Taylor, including a food drive geared toward families in need as well as those who have been impacted by gun violence in Louisville, reported WLKY.
This weekend marks one year since the death of Breonna Taylor. Taylor was killed by police during a raid in her apartment.
Breonna’s mother, Tamika Palmer, wanted to hold a food drive in Breonna’s memory.
Christopher 2X, the executive director of Gamechangers, said, “They put emphasis on homicide victims and violent crime survivors.”
Gamechangers, a Louisville nonprofit, and “Until Freedom,” which is New York-based, are behind the food drive. The drive will distribute more than 1,000 bags of fresh produce and groceries to people in need.
Linda Sarsour, the co-founder of Until Freedom, said, “There’s a lot of need here, it’s not just about police violence; it’s also about gun violence, it’s also about food deserts.”
On Sunday, food will be passed out at the community connections building in the Portland area. The food was donated by hip-hop mogul Jay-Z‘s company Roc Nation.
Sarsour told WLKY, “Roc Nation has been a champion of providing resources to organizers, to activists. They are also game for food distribution or anything that brings some sort of joy or hope to communities of color.”

Presenters for the LIVE show include Alicia KeysAndra DayArsenio HallCynthia ErivoLin-Manuel MirandaMichelle Obama, Misty Copeland, Regina KingSamuel L. Jacksonthe cast of Tyler Perry’s Sistas, Swizz Beatz, and Tracy Morgan.

The non-televised award categories will be announced virtually March 22-26. Presenters include the cast of BET’s Bigger (Tanisha Long, Angell Conwell, Rasheda Crockett, Tristen J. Winger, and Chase Anthony,) CeCe Winans, Damson Idris, Daymond John, Javicia Leslie, JB Smoove, Leslie Jones, Madalen Mills, MAJOR., Marcus Scribner, Method Man, Nicole Beharie, Retta, Reno Wilson, Susan Kelechi Watson, Tamar Braxton and Terrence Terrell.

Earlier this week, nominees for the inaugural Outstanding Social Media Personality award were announced, which included Desi Banks (@iamdesibanks), Karlton Humes (@notKarltonBanks), Kevin Fredricks (@KevOnStage), Tabitha Brown(@iamtabithabrown), and Tiffany Aliche (@thebudgetnista).

The NAACP Image Awards honors the accomplishments of people of color in the fields of television, music, literature, and film and also recognizes individuals or groups who promote social justice through creative endeavors.

Please follow and like us:
Digiqole ad

1 Review

Manasota View

Write a Review

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)